Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Conga moment

So, this was the big day, the climax of filming over the past three weeks for RTÉ's version of Don't Tell The Bride. Trevor had done all the planning, and he and Alan were separated and not allowed to contact one another during that time.

I was up far too early to get ready, one of my neighbours gave me a hand with my gear (simple things like buttons and buttonholes, ties, are so much bother when you only have the use of one arm), and she gave me a lift to the house where Alan was staying. Filing had begun at 9:00 am, but I wasn't involved until noon. The morning was about the unveiling of the bridesmaid dresses, Alan getting into his wedding gear, and the trip to the hotel where the ceremony and the reception were happening. Since I was walking Alan down the aisle, he and I drove in style on the back seat of a 1948 Rolls Royce. We had no idea where we were going, and it was only when the driver pulled in there that we found out that the venue was the Crown Plaza hotel in Santry.

Everything was done in fine style (well done, Trevor!), starting with the civil partnership ceremony at 2:30, then a fabulous meal and much dancing and drinking afterwards. Things finally wound down at 1:30 am or so. A fantastic day, and a great experience to be involved in filming. We've no idea when the programme will be broadcast, but we're all looking forward to seeing it, probably early next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.