Qualified!

I am now a PADI qualified scuba diver!

Gosh, what a night. I was sent home yesterday with 176 pages of manual to read and mark with answers to questions and three tests to do! I worked solid until 1am, it was like cramming for my finals! Arrived at the dive centre this morning and had to give the answers to my test questions, I got all but two right but then I had had the manual with me. I was horrified when he took it off me and gave me three more papers to complete on my own – but I managed 100%, 100% and 90% so he was happy.

Mohammed, my instructor (above), then gave me two sessions in the swimming pool and we covered a lot of material, including how to assemble my own gear. After a short break it was then time to go back in the sea, another 12m dive for 35mins. We had about 10 minutes doing some more techniques and then time to explore. I didn’t have to concentrate as much today and I was more in control, so I could spend time looking. I was also able to swim on my own rather than holding Mohammed’s hand.

The coral and the fish were amazing. Mohammed pointed out a stingray hiding on the bottom and then, the icing on the cake, a turtle swam past us. All I could see was the deep blue water and the turtle, it was such a special moment! Apparently we were very lucky as there aren’t many about at the moment.

Back on the surface Mohammed made me practise towing a tired diver (him) to the opposite side of the jetty. At least this time I made it out without falling over but I did need help standing still on the moving platform. I passed and received my PADI scuba diver certification, with the comment that I am natural under water and should do more dives. I would love to, it was amazing!

Big Adventure Day 106 – PADI qualification
Photos 11/12,128

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.