Sinai Desert

After the last two days I couldn’t wake up so had a relaxing morning by the pool. This afternoon six of us had booked another quad biking trip, this time we were also joined by two others from another hotel. We had the same guides so they took us on a different route through the hills. It wasn’t quite as easy with a bigger group, especially with one person who was very nervous and slow.

We had to wait for the two from the other hotel so Sam let us have a quick drive of one of the sand buggies, I still prefer the quads. Then we were off, round the hills and on to the open plain for a spin, then through the hills and down a very narrow windy track, back into the open valley for a stop to shout our names and hear them reverberate around us. The guys then climbed a steep hill but the girls all chickened out, it was very steep! I took the opportunity for a wander to do some photos and get some peace, it was beautiful.

Back on the bikes and through some more hills, stopping at a tent for drinks. We then had a special treat thrown in with a quick go at sand boarding! The hill was quite steep to climb and some of us used the boards as sledges instead. It was great fun and we ended up even more covered in sand! Another fantastic trip!

I had been hoping to get to St Catherine’s monastery and Mount Sinai. St Catherine’s has been closed but opened again two weeks ago and the trips are back on. At lunch time today I finally managed to book the overnight trip up Mount Sinai to see the sun rise and I was so excited even though I wasn’t going to get any sleep. However, when I got back this evening I got a message that the army have cancelled the trips again. The guide was most apologetic but I assured him if the army didn’t think it safe I really didn’t want to go! Disappointing but I’d rather be safe.

Big Adventure Day 107 – Quad bike in Sinai
Photos 98/12,226

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.