The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

The sun reappiers

This is an awfully long way from home, six and a half hours by train and tube away. Here is the view east from the pier in Worthing, the sun reappearing after being lost in cloud following a burning sunrise. I didn't know that Worthing had such an impressive pier, and it was within easy walking distance of the flea-pit hotel that we were staying in (though I, at least, had excellent sea views). Although I was Gusless, I didn't want to miss out on the pre-breakfast walk to see the sun rise.

Afterwards, we went to Pagham Harbour, and stood on the shingle spit which is extending rapidly eastwards, pushing the Harbour channel onto the shore causing erosion and threatening houses behind the beach. As the turnstone flies, we were perhaps one mile from the bungalow to which my grandparents retired over 50 years ago. We were on the wrong side of the channel for me to wander off to try and find it today, and somehow all those years ago when we were very small, I didn't discover the natural wonders of the Harbour, being at that young stage in my life more obsessed with the penny arcades than wildlife. Happily that obsession was soon overtaken by a love of birds and flowers, an interest that appeared from nowhere, and has stayed with me ever since.

Then the long trek home, managing to make a little time up on the trains that I had booked, or else I would even now still be travelling. Home to Wifie, Bob and Gus, and an excellent veggie curry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.