The Other Place

My mum and I had a lovely day out in Cambridge today.
We go to Oxford all the time but she hasn't been to Cambridge for forty years and I haven't been since I had an interview at Cambridge Poly The University of East Anglia. I got accepted but I got the hump because I only needed two Cs and my A-Level results were better than that. So I got into Cardiff through clearing. But I digress......
We got there early after dropping the Little Misses off at school and had such a fab time wandering around phone shops, the colleges, winding lanes and alleys, the market which had a barber's stall which I thought was genius.
We found a fantastic Thai restaurant and had a scrummy lunch and then wandered round a bit more.
Until we were very tired!!
We got back to the car, took out a second mortgage to pay for the parking and then drove out to The Orchard at Grantchester which was one of the most idyllic, atmospheric tea rooms I have ever been to!
It was where Rupert Brooke lived while he was at Cambridge
Unfortunately the tea room was closed as we got there too late but we were able to wander through the orchard and then down to the river and the water meadow. Beautiful in the evening light.
A very special corner of England indeed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.