Photogen

By Photogen

Joie de Vivre

The light on the Firth of Clyde at Prestwick about 4.30 today was beautiful. In large you'll be able to make out the outline of Ailsa Craig on the horizon. A front was advancing from the west but the sun was still shining. The freedom of the weekend lay ahead and these children, out with their dog after school, were racing across the beach as the tide receded, while their mother strolled along the prom keeping a watchful eye.

I think this captures the exuberance of children let loose on the shoreline and the wonderful freedom that growing up at the seaside brings. I know because I lived in this town and reaped the many benefits of an active childhood, fresh sea air and bracing times on the beach!

I like the almost monochrome results of the contre jour light and the silhouettes of the children caught in the sun's reflection on the water. I think my iPhone4s handled this superbly, on this the day that customers lined up early to buy one of Apple’s new iPhone 5C and the iPhone 5S smartphones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.