CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The Allstars Dub Band at the Crown and Sceptre

I meant to take my camera with me when I drove up to Whiteshill on the far side of town to visit John and Liz. I thought there might be a chance of an interesting scene to blip with their wonderful widespread views up the valley to Painswick and Sheepscombe. As it was we had too much to talk about, as I wanted to pick their brains and finally time ran out as I had to rush off so I could pick up Woodpeckers from her regular Friday afternoon teaching job a few miles away in Brimscombe.

When she finally got away from all the post teaching admin, Helena suggested that we drove up to Minchinhampton common and she reminded me that I had said I wanted to get some pictures of the tiny calves that are roaming on the common at present with their mothers. Having located where the herd was I parked on the edge of the common and then discovered I didn't have my camera. Nevertheless we did have a brief stroll and Woodpeckers managed to get an unusual view for her square challenge. As she mentioned while we walked around the cows, we are so lucky to have such laces so near with nature so close by. We saw horses being ridden, saw an abundance of swallows swooping just above the animals, fine views across the valleys to woodlands and pastures whilst in the background a skylark was singing to us.

Talking of singing, I went to our local pub this evening to have a quick half of bitter with Helena and her good friend Kitty, who we haven't seen for some time. I only intended to stay for half an hour, but did take my camera to make up for lost time. When we entered the bar, a couple of people were setting up their music equipment so I asked them if I could take a picture. They were happy with that, so I started to play around in the rather dark conditions, with only one overhead lamp that you might have in a sitting room to illuminate them.

Within a couple of minutes the whole complement of the Allstars Dub Band started to play, in fact they were only briefly testing the gear for a sound check. They weren't due to play until after 9pm. But I really enjoyed the music which they call twisted dub reggae. Rachel, the keyboard player, gave me their card and I've promised to send a few pictures to them. They are coming back in December according to Rodda, the landlord, who is obviously a fan too, so I will make an effort to be there for the whole performance. Apparently they come from Tewkesbury and Malvern area which is about thirty miles away, but I would never have associated it with twisted dub reggae. You live and learn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.