A one-legged grasshopper

I have been feeling a bit under the weather today. Helena has ventured into town this afternoon to enjoy the Stroud Folk Festival that is on today, but I wasn't that enamoured of the line-up or folk music in general.

I ventured out to the garden to water a few plants in pots that are looking a bit parched despite the recent rain. While I was spraying with the hose, Bomble came out to join me; in fact he has been with me most of the day, which is surprising as he is normally deeply asleep on a bed at this time. I assume he is soaking up the last of the warmth before the imminent darkening of the light.

I noticed a grasshopper disturbed by the spray of the hose and decided to go and get my camera and look for one to record as they can't be around for much longer either. It took a while to get back out but when I did I found all sorts of images, but no grasshoppers. Bomble nearly got blipped walking across the raised beds and nearly standing on a strawberry flower on a plant I had transplanted a few weeks ago. I liked the white flower but wasn't so keen on his paw standing on it! (note: Bomble has just joined me at my desk, asking for yet more food!!). I also saw a big spider on it's web as well as more cabbage white butterflies.

I peeked into a bucket which had filled with rain water and saw a grasshopper floating on the surface. I leaned over and fished it into my hand, and was delighted to find it moving. Sadly it only had one of its main legs, the one it uses for leaping, and that might account for how it got stuck in the bucket. I laid it down in the grass and waited a few minutes and then it started to move and turn around. So since my good samaritan act had by chance produced exactly what I'd intended to photograph, I thought I had better do it justice. It isn't a great shot, nor very sharp, but it is alive and I'm glad of that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.