Tweedy the clown – at Gifford's Circus

Kate, one of Helena's three sisters, drove down from Preston yesterday evening with her three kids so that they could all go to the famous and wonderful Gifford's Circus. They had booked tickets the last time they visited over a month ago and I'm so glad the weather has been fine for them.

Gifford's Circus was formed in 2000 by Toti and Nell Gifford and 'their vision was of a miniature village green circus, packed, rowdy, glamorous - birds and horses and motorbikes bursting from a fluttering white tent – a show for rural families, farmers and filmstars', (as quoted on their website). They have toured each summer visiting many local Gloucestershire settings, including Minchinhampton Common. But today was a new location, just up the hill from us on the road to Bisley, where the Big Top was erected in a field belonging to Fennels Farm. They have a range of traditional circus wagons and caravans which they park rather as I imagine a wagon train would have camped.

I decided not to go to the performance this year but went up there anyway, so we could have a picnic in the long grass of the neighbouring field. I then took some pictures of the encampment, wagons, stalls and tents and even managed to persuade the attendants to let me in to the Big top just before the show was about to start.

The clown called Tweedy, who you can see here with his bowler hat, came into the arena and warmed everyone up. Here he is walking round the ring with a broom to get the ring ready. This was the second to last performance and the 5pm show tonight will be the final one of the whole season. I think I will go next year, because when I had to leave the tent just as the show was about to begin, I felt I was missing out. The laughter of children and the big roars from the crowd spread out through the canvas and across the fields :o(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.