Tipton's weed, chase-devil, or Klamath weed

I'm pleased to say that the muscle strain at the top of my leg definitely feels better today and I was able to move more freely. I haven't felt like being very adventurous in my activities recently nor felt motivated to seek out particularly distinctive images. But tonight I wandered into the garden after a light and late afternoon shower, when the thicker clouds had lifted as the warm front receded.

The sun occasionally shone weakly across the garden and amongst other little flowers, I returned to this common St Johns Wort plant which is sadly going to be reduced enormously, as I have let it bolt and it is spreading too widely. I planted it soon after we moved here so it has done well. I love its profusion of yellow flowers, which insects so love to explore for the pollen, and its budding red fruits which are then formed for birds to eat, I suppose.

Autumn is fast approaching with these damp evenings and cool nights. I have taken many pictures of the St Johns Wort flowers during the summer, but always some other image seemed to be selected for blip purposes. I don't think the few flowers still remaining will last much longer, so tonight they are featured with an adornment of a few raindrops, and thanks. Helena also has just told me that they are one of her favourite flowers too.



St John's wort (pronounced to rhyme with 'skirt') is the plant species Hypericum perforatum, and is also known as Tipton's weed, chase-devil, or Klamath weed.

It is a herb that has been used as a folk medicine for hundreds of years, for mental health problems and for healing wounds. Today, it is mainly used for depression, mild anxiety, and sleep problems.

Its botanical name is Hypericum perforatum, and you may see it marketed as 'Hypericum' (this comes from the Greek, meaning 'greatest health'). The active ingredient for depression is called hypericin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.