'The Curse Has Been Broken'

WOOOOHOOOOOOO

Finally after almost 5 years and an eleven game losing streak to the Geelong Cats, our Hawks have beaten the odds to come out on top. The game was another tight arm wrestle which went all the way down to the wire with either team still in the game until the last minute.

I was all set to watch the game on TV last night when I received a text message from a mate saying that he knew a friend that had two tickets to the game, but couldn't make it and would I be interested in taking them at a bargain price. YES PLEASE.

I drove home, picked up Dylan and off we went to the MCG for our biggest game of the year. About a week or so back Dylan decided that he wanted to change his allegiance and barrack for the Cats, much to my disappointment.
Before leaving the house last night, he even printed out a large A3 sized Cats Logo to take to the game. He was quite tired and emotional when I arrived home, but as we sorted through his issues and jumped into the car he seemed much more relaxed. I had a quiet chat to him about what it meant to me to go to the footy with him so that we could support each other when we have a loss and to celebrate the wins together. He got it, and said Dad, I think I will barrack for the Hawks tonight, but go back to the Cats next season. When I asked him why he said he didn't know. By the time we arrived at East Richmond station to park the car, he had totally swung back to fully support the Hawks. I'm so glad because I see our times together as a real bonding time and something that we can share, both the highs and the lows together, instead of separating us.

Anyway, certainly have no fingernails left after the game, but can now look forward to our second Grand Final in a row. We will play the winner of the Fremantle Dockers and the Sydney Swans next Saturday in the penultimate game for season 2013.

I'm backblipping this as I was too buggered by the time we arrived home last night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.