St Gallen Stiftsbibliothek

I wasn't really supposed to take this. But there were no visible signs saying 'no photography', so I took a couple fairly surreptiously until being told - reasonably kindly - not to take any more. But it's a victimless wrong, it seems to me. I wasn't using flash, and I wasn't using a large obtrusive camera which would make it hard for others to see.

This is the upper floor and the ceiling of the famous monastery library dedicated to St Gall, the itinerant monk who founded St Gallen. I guess he was an illegal immigrant to Switzerland...

The books and other exhibits housed there date back many hundreds of years - including some Egyptian mummies, which seemed vaguely incongruous, and some early Christian documents. The library itself is high baroque, as is the Cathedral next door which impressed me much less.

We followed the visit to the library with a little wander around St Gallen and lunch at an Italian restaurant of dubious originality. I'm using the hotel wifi, even though I've checked out, before going to the airport and starting my Air Baltic marathon which leaves me feeling vaguely anxious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.