The Pollux

The three-masted Pollux is a replica of a barque sailing ship of 1850. It was used as a training ship for sailors for years.
The ship was launched on September 11, 1940 and commissioned in January 1941 as a training ship for the sixth set up by the Royal Dutch Sailing and Rowing Association in 1849 Sailors Institute, later Lower Maritime Pollux. The ship was moored at the Oosterdok in Amsterdam from 1940 to 1984. It served as a training ship until 1989.
In 1984, the Pollux moved to IJmuiden where it was in use until 1991. In 2012 the ship returned back in Amsterdam after restoration and it’s now used as a restaurant.

View in large is so much nicer, just press the 'L' key or use the magnifying glass!

NOTE: I'm into a new experimental project... Complicated panorama's

This is my very first real attempt and I'm pretty pleased with the result so far.

Like I wrote on friday I was doubting which software to buy? Well... I chose for PT Gui over autopano.

Both were good, but not perfect with many complicated lines - like in this shot - so I chose for the one that seemed best to handle without first having to earn a university degree in understanding the manual ;-))

----
PS> Some of my photo's - like this one - are for sale! If there's another image you like while backblipping my journal and you would like to have it on your wall... Just drop me a mail at: info@newdutchblue.com stating the publishing date and desired size up to 135 cm and I'll see if it's resolution is good enough for a print and will send you an offer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.