The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Little Grebe Feeding Her Chick - Newport Wetlands

My first visit to Newport Wetlands since the 6th July. Okay I did visit there on Newport Wetlands Open Day but never made it on to the reserve that day.

I was in two minds in going in the end. It was grey and overcast, and not that promising for photography. But I decided I needed to stretch my legs as I have been cooped up in the house all week. To be honest I was right about the light, and this photo needed some Photoshop TLC to get it usable for blip.

It was the moment of the day. There were a lot of Little Grebes with young there. I sat and watched this one feeding her chick for half hour, it was wonderful to see.

The rest of the visit was marred somewhat by two numpties on micro lights that buzzed the reserve and put all the birds up. Why? Oh Why? I will be sending some pictures to RSPB Cymru and see if anything at all can be done.

It was good to be doing some Welsh bird watching for a change!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.