wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Contrast

Day Three of my Boston Adventure!

I spent this morning catching up on old missed blips, writing long-overdue emails, and doing other general tasks that just needed to be done. The weather started out as rainy and a little miserable, so it was perfect for that kind of work, but by the afternoon the sky was shining and the sun clear again. Mo has uni work to get done, so I left her to it and went into the city (catching the bus and subway all by myself) for some explorations. I've said it before, but one of my favourite things to do in a new city is simply to wander and get a little lost, find interesting streets and buildings, watch the people going about their lives. I needed to buy some postcards, and thought I would then buy a hot drink and sit by the harbour to write them. Little did I know (although really I should have) that I would get completely distracted by buskers, shops, lanes, and the spectacular mishmash of architecture offered by this city. And the shadows of the late afternoon.

I spent about 20 minutes standing here, trying to time my photos to include the best shadows but no conspicuous people. This is at the top of the stairs outside the City Hall, looking down on Faneuil Hall. I'm undecided on how I've played with it, whether it's too my liking or not. But sometimes it's important just to step away and stop trying to improve it.

It was a lovely afternoon, full of sunshine, chai latttes, horses, people, and buildings. Nothing dramatic, but a good way to spend time in a new place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.