wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Skyline

Day Two of a Boston Adventure!

We... well, what did we do. Lots!

Mo had work in the morning, so while she went off to do that I found myself a walking tour of the city and enjoyed learning about the history of it all. Our guide was a very very fast speaking Bostonian with a thick accent, so occasionally I'd find myself thinking 'what was that?', but it was pretty interesting and gave me a feel for the city. Mo and I regathered, found lunch (felafel) and then went to look at a few more sites. She works part time at the Boston Athaneum, a very beautiful private library, and could give me a tour of it. I enjoyed creeping around all the mezzanines and bookshelves filled with an assortment of books (although not very many on the British landscape). They have a book bound in human skin, and an enormous collection of all kinds of old books. I could have stayed there all day.

By the time we were done there it was afternoon tea time, so we went off to find a cuppa. We went along to Beacon Hill, and enjoyed a nice long hot beverage out in the fresh air, watching people and traffic go by. Eventually we decided we probably should actually do something. We set an end destination and wandered off to find it. On our way we walked along the Charles River Esplanade, took photos of people kayaking, a squirrel, some sculptures, trains, and generally everything else. Occasionally we'd catch a glimpse of our end destination, and finally decided it was time to cross back over to the built up area.

We had to find the Boston Legal building. I'm not a fan of the show, but a lot of my law buddies are, so I thought they'd appreciate a picture of it. We found it, took photos, including the obligatory Mo-lies-on-the-ground-and-photographs-up-my-nose-to-get-me-and-the-building shot. Then after a mosey around the area we set off for the 'T' (the subway), to go home for dinner. The timetables revealed that we were in between times for the busses and trains, so we changed direction and went for dinner in Little Italy instead. Mmmmm. Good food.

A few night time photos later we were on the bus back to Mo's, where we sat in silence on our computers, having talked ourselves out after a long day. I updated my iPhone to iOS7 (mostly liking it so far), and did other mundane things before we decided it really was too late after a busy day.

I like Boston, it's big, but doesn't feel it. So far the weather has been great, lots of sun and nice temperatures, and the people generally seem to be quite friendly. I am so used to identifying tourists by their American accents, however, I find myself occasionally thinking 'ooh, tourist, like me!' before realising they have a perfectly normal accent for these parts. Oops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.