Cello improv !!

One of the coolest features offered by Megan (second from right), Joan's (far right) and my new cello teacher, are periodic group cello sessions. The structure of each session is flexible and open-ended. Sometimes, it will have a master-class format, sometimes we might do ensemble work, or duets.

Tonight, we worked on improvisation.

Admittedly, tonight's topic caught me completely by surprise. Here I was the last few days, diligently practicing my solo pieces thinking I'd need to share them with the group. Megan stripped away the music, the music stands, seated us in a circle with her cellist friend Emily leading the way, creating background loops on the fly for us to work with.

Emily gently led us through several exercises that gradually built up our confidence at finding our own sounds and creating on the fly. It was very refreshing and liberating. I hope we can have a few more sessions with her.

Blippers will be interested to know that Emily has created for herself an ongoing project, similar to the photo-a-day project we enjoy at blip. She has a page on Soundcloud where she is challenging herself to create a new cover-song-per-week. She told me that she has had to miss a few weeks, but is enjoying this musical challenge immensely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.