Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Blue

I can't believe it, but I am still feeling the effects of this cold or whatever it is! Throat is still scratchy and my head feels like it's filled with lead - enough already!

So, today you get a blue jay. This is a bird that I can photograph on almost any day of the year as they are year-round visitors in the back yard. Like all members of the corvid family (think crows and ravens) they are smart birds and endlessly fun to watch. They tend to be a bit skittish of humans, but some of them get used to me to the point where they will approach within about 8 feet. This one was watching me from about 10 feet away - you can tell he was a bit on edge because his crest is raised. You can also see the signs of his molt - his head is not as sleek as it will be in another month and if you look closely you'll see pin feathers around his face. Still, he's a handsome boy, isn't he?

And, there is still at least one hummer around. I've seen her at the feeder almost every time I've looked out. I'm torn between hoping she stays for a few more days, and hoping she leaves and makes a safe migration...

Great phone chat with my migratory parents this morning - they are in Idaho for a few weeks, chasing down a bunch of new geo-caches. We agreed that there is a certain obsessiveness similarity between geo-caching and blipping...

I am going to go have a short nap now - hoping it makes me feel better. HATE being under the weather!

Two more shots taken today HERE, on Flickr - another molting blue jay and a spider web in the morning light.

ciao,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.