Kelpie Day

Must be Monday, down this way again.

Can't bring myself to post these in colour just now. The sculptures without any distraction from the yellow JCBs, cranes and hi-vis wearing workers works better in mono, especially on a grey day like today. Having eyes and ears helps now though, but I actually think I like them better with only part of their metal skin in place, the structure that's being covered appeals to me more. Or, as we've a few of Andy Scott's installations dotted around locally, maybe it's just a case of Andy Scott fatigue.

Not sure if it's because of these directly but, as I sat and watched bits of the kelpie being hoisted into position like big bits of meccano, it definitely looked like the traffic heading north on the motorway was almost coming to a standstill as they passed these, and I still think they might be a bit of a dangerous distraction for those caught unawares when these pop up out of the undergrowth as they hurtle by. Time will tell though, but for now they're beginning to resemble something a bit more recognisable.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.