ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Sunrise.

I was too excited to sleep this morning! I got up at a ridiculous hour and watched Norwegian TV until 8am, when I got M out of bed with the promise of early-morning fishing. We took a flask of coffee onto our little boat and watched the sun come up over the mountains; nothing was biting but we saw around four pods of porpoises feeding so close to our boat that we could hear them puffing the air to clear water out of their blowholes. Magical!

When we got home we ate breakfast and had a shower, then took the ferry across from Gjermundshavn to Årsnes, then drove to Rosendal. Rosendal itself is very small, so we decided to continue out along the road for a wee bit, taking in the fjordside in the sun and passing through lots of picturesque villages, before turning back to Peder Baker for a sjokolade and a pastry. We picked up a few bits and bobs for our tea from the Spar, then caught our ferry home again. The sun was still shining, so M and I enjoyed a Hansa in the sun on the balcony, and watched a lovely little red squirrel with tufty ears dart across the fence that M and I were sitting on as he proposed to me yesterday. A minute later, we heard a splash from the fjord, and I glanced up just in time to see something big breach the water. It was so large I’m convinced it was a pilot whale, but it didn’t come up again so I can’t be sure. This place is bursting with nature!

M wanted to head out fishing again but I stayed home to cook dinner (like a good little wife-to-be!) – we’d brought over some ingredients for curry (spices are very expensive in Norway and there seems to be a mango chutney boycott). I can see M mooring the boat now so I think I’ll head inside and warm up some plates. Tonight we plan to eat outside, play some cards and listen to Norwegian radio (M thinks it will boost our learning – I remain unconvinced)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.