ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Ferry on the Fjord.

M and I slept a little later today and woke to another dry sunny day; we've been so lucky with the weather this week. We ate a breakfast of local smoked salmon and boiled eggs on the balcony, sun glinting on the water: beautiful.

After breakfast I took a long shower, then M and I read our books, sitting on the sunloungers outside. We decided to take a drive past Gjermundshavn along the road we'd come in on, but in the opposite direction - just to explore. We passed so many lovely places and views, with cabins dotted mainly along the waterfront but also hidden in the forests that sweep up on the mountains from the fjordside. On our way back we stopped at one of the numerous fruit stalls that sat unmanned outside all the houses with fruit trees in the garden. We picked up a box of plums that smelled absolutely divine! I'll make a cake for A and L arriving tomorrow - maybe with some of my amaretto.

We headed out on the boat for more fiske later but apart from a bit of excitement on my part when I caught the bottom ("I've got a big cod! Oh, no, wait... It's just Norway") there wasn't much happening. M must have caught the only fish in the fjord on our first day - what luck! When we got back in I started on dinner - we'd bought a whole chicken from the supermarket so I made some roast vegetables, Yorkshire pudding and "brun saus"... Not gravy, but exactly what it says on the packet: a sauce that is brown. Odd. Anyhow, the meal was very good overall!

We haven't watched much TV this trip - we had better things to do and we only get 3 Norwegian channels anyway, but tonight we watched a sketch show (highly confusing when you don't speak the language - but funny) and some House. Funny which shows travel to other countries and are loved by other cultures, possibly even more than the original country it was intended for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.