From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Edinburgh 5 - A New-Haven-ly Day With Love

It was another fine day and I slept so well last night after all the walking at Portobello and Calton Hill. I so love those pleasant aches and the memories of a lovely day which will last a lifetime.

I had my usual lovely breakfast not being tempted by David's haggis today but I thoroughly enjoyed my breakfast and went yawning back upstairs to rest my stomach. I was just starting to doze off and I heard a scraping at the window and sat bolt upright with shock! I just thought of that bit in Salem's Lot that was serialised years ago where the one boy's friend had died and after the funeral, the ghost - then an evil grinning demon - appeared at the window scratching at the glass. Anyway, it wasn't a grinning demon here at A-Haven; it was a serious looking window cleaner on a ladder, not floating. I'm not sure whether I was more ashamed of being seen looking slobby or of being caught watching Jeremy Kyle!

Horrors! I tidied myself up and left for the day straight after that! I had no plans so was going to go to Camera Obscura on the Royal Mile. I had my Kindle with me so decided to sit in Princes Street Gardens and read for half an hour first. I forgot the time and read for so long in such a lovely spot on my bench with squirrels and occasional seagulls wandering by that it was way past lunch when I drifted up Princes Street feeling a little light-headed and dreamy - reading for long spells does that - and went to McDonalds for a late lunch. I jumped on a 22 to Ocean Terminal then and went to Boots for more tissues. I have had such lovely comments on my blips this week that I have been getting through tissues by the ton! I'm sure the staff in Boots now think of me as 'Weepy Tissue Woman!'

Next stop was the Vue cinema where I went to see the best film I'd seen in ages as it was just about to begin. It was 'Rush' - no idea who is in it - but it was set in 1970 about the bitter rivalry between racing drivers Niki Lauda and James Hunt. It was brilliant! You don't need to be a motor racing fan either. I fell in love with two men while I was in there! No, not the ones in the film. It was those two fellas Ben and Jerry, the mint and chocolate chip variety! Yum!

It was getting on for 7:30pm when I left and had the great idea of walking to Newhaven Harbour which is only 5 minutes away from Ocean Terminal for today's photo. Anyone who knows me knows my sense of direction is hopeless and I got lost and didn't get there until an hour and a half later! Worth it, I think and I took several before heading home.

Track? This cracker by the mighty Slade was in the film - Mama Weer All Crazee Now

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.