HeyLittleBird

By Rebekah

Octo-phant? Ele-pus?

Girls day trip to London with my mum!

We had an ultra-hipster morning, visiting Camden Market, Brick Lane then a quick look around Spitalfields Market. Camden was successful: I bought a large leather handbag (I definitely needed a new handbag for my upcoming start of Uni term... coughcough) and mum bought a cosy scarf. Brick Lane was cool too- lots of vintage-y shops and also home of the most amazing graffiti. It was more artwork than "graffiti" per-say, check the amount of fine detail that has gone into Mr Octo-phant/Ele-pus. This kind of thing certainly grabs my attention. It's slightly more impressive than some sad kid who has scrawled his name with spray paint across a wall next to a train line... wouldn't you agree? Anyway, there was lots more where this came from. Brick Lane, if you want to go see for yourself!

From here we got the tube across to Oxford street. After looking round a few shops we found a little Mexican restaurant I've visited before... and took great delight in enjoying a jug of their frozen margarita (and free tortilla chips!) sat in the sunshine.

We then did our "traditional" walk down Regent Street, through Leicester Square and Trafalgar Square, down past Downing Street and the Houses of Parliament to Southbank where we sat by the river, waiting for the sun to go down.

I really love that my mum and I can hang out like this for the day. I've reached the age where we can now go out as friends, as well as being mum and daughter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.