Away we go...

Mama Mia what a day!
I woke up and thought; maybe I could sneak a cup of coffee before my granddaughter woke up. Well, that did not happen. I heard the “Where is mommy” wake up call over the intercom just as the mug of coffee was going to my mouth. So close! I went downstairs to her room and when I reached out for her to come out of the bed, she let out a sneeze that could have held up wallpaper! I am not kidding! I scrambled for tissues and hoped it was not as bad as it seemed. It was not. Just a little cold. Still she was not herself and who could blame her.
My grandson also had a little head cold and I guess this is what going back to school means for most parents and grandparents. After breakfast, we were dressed and decided to tackle the grocery store as we were completely out of some necessary items. I no sooner got down the block, and she was fast asleep. I took my time driving to the store and once again sat in the parking lot reading while she napped for almost 40 minutes. I saw they had one of the kid car shopping carts and thought she would like to ‘drive’ while I pushed the cart. It was a big hit and I managed to get this photo right outside the store in front of all the pumpkins set up for display.
We got threw the store okay even though I will say this kid friendly shopping cart was hell to push! It not only adds weight it adds length so you felt as if you were steering a tractor-trailer down the aisles. When we got back out to the parking lot, the wind had picked up and I was pushing with all the strength I had since the cart was now full of groceries that added to the ‘load’. I got the cart finally situated next to the trunk of my car and as I lifted one bag of groceries into the trunk the cart started to move. I stuck my foot out to stop the wheel but the darn thing was so heavy it ran right over my foot! My granddaughter is now giggling thinking this is hysterical and I am freaking out that she is rolling away from me. I grabbed the cart, pulled it back, and now had to use my foot as a wheel jam to keep it from getting away. It was a horribly awkward position to be in but I finally got everything into the car. I got in the car after struggling with the car seat and buckle and I let out a big *sigh*. My granddaughter said, “That was fun.” She is obviously easy to please. My idea of fun is definitely not this! I got home and discovered my new walking sneakers had arrived! This is my idea of shopping, Zappos online!! You choose, click and it’s there the next day. Now THAT WAS FUN!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.