Hyperionides

By HaxSyn

An issue of scale

It was Doors Open weekend in Glasgow and number of us took the train through. The original plan was to visit a number of places starting with the Glasgow City Chambers, but when I got off the train and exited I realised I had left my bag on the train which contained my camera! The others headed to the City Chambers while I returned into the station. The cleaners had found my bag and handed into the station managers office and I got it back immediately thanks to the very helpful station staff. When I caught up with friends they had decided not to visit the City Chambers as there was some sort of demonstration going on and there was a large police presence, instead my friends had stopped off for a beer. After a leisurely beer we headed to the famous "Barrowlands" where the ballroom was open to the public for the weekend.

After a brief visit to the "Barrowlands" we headed to our main destination for the day, the Wellpark Brewery, home of "Tennents" who produce the largest selling lager in Scotland. After visiting Eden Brewery recently it was interesting to visit somewhere at the complete other end of the scale, the brewery is HUGE, to give you some idea, each of the tanks pictured above hold about 6,000 000 pints of "beer". They have their own bottling line which can bottle several million bottles a minute and canning line which processes a couple million cans a minute, unfortunately they were not running at the time. At the end of the tour we were taken to the onsite bar (or hospitality suite) where we were given access to a free bar! Believe it or not we only stayed for the one drink (yes I actually drank a pint on Tennents Lager, which didn't taste bad, it didn't taste of anything at all to be honest and seemed pretty pointless, I don't understand why it is so popular!).

After a bit of a rushed pint we headed to "West brewery" where we had a table booked for dinner, which I thoroughly enjoyed (you can read my review on Yelp) after dinner we enjoyed a couple pints in a couple more pubs as we meandered back to the train station.

All on all it was a really good day, if a bit tiring (it was a lovely hot day and there was quite a lot of walking involved).



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.