So long, and thanks for all the fish

So - that's it, the end of the USA workshop 2013, and one of the most spectacular trips of my life.

Thanks to all my guests who were with me, for making it such a wonderful journey for all of us. Sharing a trip for the first time is always special, as we can all be "gobsmacked" together! I haven't laughed so much with a group of people I've spend 18 hours a day with for ever years.

A huge thank you to all the Blippers who've followed me, Will and Ken through the trip, commenting daily, leaving me countless stars and faves - giving me my highest rated and most favourited picture ever. Especially as the schedule left me almost no time to comment back.

Thanks to all my new subscribers - again none of which I've been able to thank individually, I really appreciate your subs.

Finally, thanks to you all for getting all of my USA blips onto the Spotlight page - I am truly humbled that you enjoyed them so much.

We ended the trip in the little, quiet city of Las Vegas! Talk about a shock to the senses! Loud, brash, excessive, ridiculous. I asked one of my guests to describe the USA in one word... she said "obese" (referring to the scale of the landscape). On Vegas, she said "vulgar".

I chose this image of the fountains outside the Bellagio as they did exhibit a little less brash colour than the rest of the city, but also as they truly exemplified the ridiculous excesses of the culture there - Vegas is in the middle of a desert, where the most precious commodity is water, and yet they have these huge fountains and pools.

Loved the USA - can't wait to go back. Next trip is Yosemite in February 2014, THAT should be really special.

One week at home, then off to Tuscany for a week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.