Photogen

By Photogen

Autumn Rhododendron

I've avoided the autumn signs so far as there are still lots of summer flowers thriving in the garden. However, leaves once they have changed colour usually do not stay on the plant for long. So I decided to capture this small rhododendron bush in a state of transition.

The new green leaves and buds will survive the winter intact and the older lower leaves, which have turned a gorgeous orange, are about to fall. I have given this image the polar-coordinates treatment. I think it worked well with this symmetrical shot. The original was taken directly above the four buds in a square arrangement. The polar coordinates (polar to rectangular) lay them out in a line and move the central core of the orange leaves to the base. There you have it - a little bit of Photoshop magic! I have added another half dozen or so polar coordinates taken today to the start of my Special Effects Portfolio, if you are interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.