The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Contrasts

This was Gus at lunchtime in the rabbit field, running back to me after no success in flushing a bunny. His happiness is the prospect of a Gravy Bone. I know I have blipped photos like this of him before, but this one shows how much more powerful he is than in the early days.

Gus's joie de vivre contrasts with the condition of Bob the Cat. Alas, he is not himself. He has no appetite for any food we give him, no matter how luxurious by normal standards. The old lad is very bony now. He doesn't appear distressed, he's purring loudly, but he's lacking energy and spark. Working at home today, I have maybe been more distressed than Bob himself. He has been such a vital companion for 12 years, gentle and mischievous, a creature of beauty and grace. I don't like to think of what lies ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.