Mad March Hares ...................

................ in September!!!!

Had a last minute call from "M" for a double oh three and a half mission today ..... took my Mum with me as "interference"!!! Lol.

(For those of you who think I'm being rude - this is the context in which I use the word - Interference (chess), when a piece is sacrificially interposed between attacker and defender
Interference (ice hockey), the penalty where a player impedes the movement of another player who does not have the puck)



I have been meaning to photograph this artwork for a number of years but, for various reasons, have never got around to it - until today!

Unless I had laid down (literally) in the road - it was also on a roundabout - it was impossible to get the whole of the sculpture in a clear shot so you get the top two-thirds.

Ding, ding - Round One ........


The sculptor was the flamboyant Barry Flanagan who sadly died in 2009 - this piece, called "The Boxing Ones" showing two hares standing on a cross, was cast in 1985 (and erected here in 1986) is made of bronze and is seventy nine and a half inches (199 cms) tall.
There is also a statue of his at Chatsworth House in Derbyshire.

I am not sure whether this is an original or not but suspect it probably is.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.