Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Actually Factually Here

Blow me down with a feather; this arrived today - and the Digital Camera Warehouse saga finally ground to a halt. Let me explain ... no, there is too much; let me sum up: Sigma 30 mm lens finally arrived, with the correct mount - but I will only ever deal with Ted's from now on.

For those who want the long version...

Ordered K30 from Ted's Cameras for my birthday.
Wanted Sigma 30mm f/1.4 to go with it.
Ted's didn't have that lens in stock. Looked around the net.
George's Cameras website listed it, so we bought it.
A few days later they called to tell us they didn't have it.
Refund.
More looking around the net.
Find a few dodgy-seeming grey importers, who probably wouldn't have it anyway, and Digital Camera Warehouse.
Rang DCW to confirm they actually had it in stock; they said yes, but the guy quoted me more than $100 above the price on the website.
Ordered it from DCW's website.
Encountered the weirdest credit-card validation method in the history of EVAR.
"Would you like fries with that?" phone call to try to sell me filters.
No thanks, just the lens.
Ok then.
Lens arrives (quick shipping, I'll give them that).

ISCANONMOUNTDAFUQ

Phone them ... oh.
Yeah "oh"...
Post it back.
Missed phone call from them - fully expecting them to say they didn't have it.
Invoice for replacement arrived yesterday by email.
Shipping notice arrived by email this morning.
Lens arrived by courier today

ISPENTAXMOUNTOMFG

So. I am pleased. However, I quite simply cannot bring myself to consider buying camera gear online from anywhere except Ted's from now on.

That said, you can also see in this photo a purchase from exeltek: mrs tsuken's teensy-tiny little purple compact camera. I simply had to put it next to the Sigma lens for a size comparison.

And for another size comparison, check out the 30mm next to my Pentax 50mm... Fairly a bit quite weird; I can't quite see how something so mahoosive can have such a short(ish) focal length.

If you've read this far, congratulations or something. Even more so if you identify the movie I quoted at the start. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.