The Pevensie Dilemma

By PevensieDilemma

A Meeting Of Minds

I have a great deal of empathy for the unfortunate person who is given the task of facilitating a room full of professional facilitators and coaches.

What a job!

My colleagues and I spent the day exploring a new piece of work.

In the middle of the day, we escaped outside for a 30 minute lunch break, wiped the perspiration from our foreheads and gathered ourselves for part two.

I get a great deal of benefit from those opportune times where we can simply thrash things out around the table.

It helps focus my mind on the current and the short term but always breaks open the part of me that likes a bit of strategic thinking!

As I've navigated through these last two or three years, I've become increasingly aware of the value that others bring.

There's a uniqueness to our strengths as individuals and a great force comes into play when we utilise that to work together.

This was evident today as each brought a different angle and perspective and we experienced some great conversation.

Whether there are family decisions to be made or whether we need a way forward in our community or in the work place, it's important to value the contribution of another - even if you disagree.

Remember, your perspective is just that.

Yours.

Your opinion of the way forward is just that.

An opinion.

But when these perspectives and opinions are thrown into the mixing bowl along with options and ideas, there's the chance to explore - there's the opportunity to springboard and to utilise what someone else brings to the party.

Do we need each other?

I think we do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.