carliewired

By carliewired

A Day of Chaos

A knock at the door
just after eight announced that
my driveway would change!

~ carliewired

Yesterday, a form letter was left in my mailbox announcing that a company would be at my home between September 25 and October 9 to install a water meter. This morning at 8:15 there was a knock on the front door. A young man wearing a hard hat and matching safety vest told me that the installation was taking place today. I looked past him in my doorway to the small group gathered on my driveway with the equipment parked on the street. I looked at the small excavator and I asked what they were going to dig. He indicated the cement in the driveway. "Not the brick I just had put in? I asked to be very clear about their intentions. "No", he assured me, "Just the cement in front of your garage door." "Have fun!" I said, trying to sound casual. I sighed with relief. I did not want anyone to disturb my beautiful and new front yard. I retreated back into the house to prepare to make my escape.
I left for the office, backing my car out of the garage and dodging equipment. The saw to cut the concrete was already in play. I wondered how my neighbours were greeting this noise and congestion in our cul de sac.

When I arrived at the entrance to our business I found myself in yet another construction zone. The City of Kamloops, in their zeal to extend the public bike path, had torn up the pavement alongside our entrance and were blocking the entrance with their equipment. A rather ineffectual flagman was trying to steer and direct traffic. One very large truck was stopped in our drive. I paused, put my car window down and inquired how long it would be until the truck was gone. I was told "soon". Then I reminded the workmen that they were on private property and that they were now blocking the only driveway that serviced 90 homes. They smiled indulgently and nodded. I'm sure they hear comments like this often.

Back at my house, the water was back on by 2 PM and all was quiet in the neighbourhood before 5. No idea when the cement will be replaced.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.