SeenThroughMyEyes

By jmules

Fox Glacier

Today, our Extreme activities began with glacier walking. The guides gave us a bunch of gear to bundle up, socks, jackets, bags, etc, and then we were off. It was a short bus ride, and about an hourish walk to the Glacier, before we were actually on it...we were dodging falling rocks, and crazy waters to get there...I'm just kidding, (sorry mom) that didn't happen. But we did pass a few known rock slip areas..but there were no falling rocks for us, so all went well. It was incredible...I mean, how many people can actually say they've walked on a glacier.

After our glacier walk...where I did drink the glacier water by the way..it was straight from Tuck Everlasting, so I will be young forever, we had to drive 10 hours to our next stop. Typically it would take 5 hours to get to Wanaka, but the one road that would get us there in that time was closed, so we had to go all the way around. It wasn't bad, I really enjoy long car rides. Everyone in the group really got to know one another, and the stars in the night sky were absolutely stunning, like nothing I've ever seen before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.