It's hip to be square

Hip to be square? I think I believe that now! I find it different to compose or shape my photo into a square, but I must admit I like it a whole lot better than I expected I would. It shows me that it is good to break out of my norm/usual ways and try something different.

This was taken tonight at around 7:30pm when I looked out the window right before dinner and saw the most beautiful sky over the river. It has been raining for nearly 3 days and it had finally stopped. Look at the gift we received! There are still some flood watches in effect but we are okay. There has been 6-7 inches of rain these 3 days. Where I had to drive today near the beach there was some water over the road but not so bad I could not drive more in the middle and be safely out of the water! It happens here sometimes and I called ahead to make sure it was passable. The water recedes pretty quickly when the rain stops. Everything was fine for me.

Poor Steven has been digging a trench in his work area (a tented space outside) to drain the water from his flooded shop. He and Dave Lucas took a break from their work at the boat shop and took a ride south on the river in our boat to look at the dam. The dam usually has 300 cfs (cubic feet per second) of water going over it, today it had 10x that amount = 3,000 cfs!! It was safe though, no rapids or anything as the braden river is very flat, no grade. Steven said occasionally he felt the pull of the current more than typical, but that was all.

So we are glad for this peaceful scene tonight and the fact that the rain has stopped. My poor mom is dealing with a dog who is of failing health (kidneys) and I was helping her some today. So sad. This beautiful scene tonight was what I needed. I will be adding this photo to Square September and also to One Street. Find out more here!

View all of my one street photos here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.