Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Lookin' Good

This big, fat bumble bee was cruising through the flower garden, trying to suck up the last bit of summer goodness - and begging to be photographed. I find that these huge bumblers are pretty easy to shoot - they tend to stay around a particular flower long enough to get focused and they don't travel as erratically as some of the smaller bees. That said, you still have to be on your toes. Lucky for me, the camera settings were perfect (God knows how that happened) so I was able to grab, shoot, and go.

Haven't seen a hummer for two days (sad face) so I think my last little female has headed south. I'll keep one feeder up for another month, just in case, changing the nectar every 4-5 days.

Thanks for the comments and stars on my Green Heron yesterday. In hindsight, I probably should have blipped the shot of the little guy all puffed up - less macabre. However, as a wanna-be nature photographer, it is always thrilling to catch wild creatures doing things like ... eating other wild creatures. So I'm still happy with my choice of the shot. However, I think we can all agree that today's bee is much more benign than a froggie-eating heron!

Two more shots of the bee, plus a bonus shot of a katydid starting HERE on Flickr

My cold has morphed into a sinus condition that is irritating but certainly not fatal - I started taking Zyrtec yesterday and in a day or so, I should be better. In the meantime, I am going to enjoy the beautiful fall weather! Time for a visit to the farm to see what kind of fall veggies I can serve with the chicken tonight...

Wherever in the world you are, whatever you are doing, I hope you are having a great day!

ciao,
Debbi

Technical stuff: Nikon D90 with Nikon 28-300 lens and a 2x close up filter, hand held

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.