Family Gossage

This was Simon's Blip choice - I wanted a close up of Minnie and Si but it was his choice tonight.

Last night was harder but I think it's because I was trying to stick to the idea of a feed every 2/3 hours. She is actually going every 4 hours and feeding more than the 30ml the hospital recommended - she is taking 60ml and settling within 20 minutes all done! The midwife came and raised my confidence by answering all my questions - it's easy to get caught up in what is 'recommended'. I need to remember she is our daughter and I can go with what feels best. I don't have to wake her to feed her after three hours, I don't have to change her nappy every two hours, I don't have to wind her till she burps as she may not be windy.......I feel much more confident now. I'm ready for the balloon to burst but at the moment we seem to have nailed it tomorrow's update could tell a different story!

Lots of visitors and cards today. Both sets of parents and Simon's brother and family. They were soon under Minnie's spell and saw how relaxed she was - lots of cuddles for them all including 3 year old Lola, Minnie's cousin. Midwife called her perfect and said we are doing brilliantly, including my neat scar.

We then got the pram out and went a walk to the local pub for lunch which is about 150m down the road. It was just the right distance to stretch my kegs without me feeling too beat up!

Home and I had a doze. When I woke, Simon had fed, changed and got Min back to sleep! I cannot tell you how blessed I feel to have such a hands on supportive husband. Mum came round to give me an injection of a blood thinner and tonight we have no visitors. I feel we will be in bed by 9 and to hell with the load of washing in the machine!

My birthday and wedding anniversary tomorrow - I feel the luckiest lady in the world x x

PS - thank you again for all your loveliness. I will get around to you all by the end of the year hopefully ;)

X x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.