Daily Wild

By emyjane

Kelly Revisited

Best viewed *larger*

Warmish weather, but not good photography weather, too bright, the light bouncing off the endless haze, in fact on the way back Dartmoor was under fog! Today we revisited Kelly House where I had the pop up art gallery a few weekends ago. This was for a house tour, with tea & cake after - all three enjoyable & the time went too fast! Excellent talk given by Warren Kelly. The estate has been in the Kelly family since 1100. Even that's impressive! It's a Grade 1 listed manor house, unfortunately it was hit with death duties over the years & the wealth is all but gone & the house not as it once was, but the family work hard to keep it going, & as far as I can see, they're rather successful - B&B, events, banquets, ghost story dinner, murder mysteries, parties - they're exploring every avenue! They were one of the houses filmed for the Channel 4 series of Country House Rescue, I must admit I remember seeing it at the time, but since spending time in the house & in the company of the Kelly's, I had another sneaky peak at it again on YouTube, but unfortunately it wouldn't play the last 20 minutes! But it didn't matter, as I've seen their progress first hand! :)

And...

Grabbing attention

Naughty bit of Kelly cake today on only my 2nd day of detox, but it would have been so impolite if I hadn't & I needed it by then, after over 2 hours of fascinating history! :) xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.