Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

In a pickle.......

.....I was watching Tom Kerridges proper Pub Food on iPlayer yesterday and was rather taken by his fresh vegetable pickle recipe (about 19 minutes in), amazingly I've got all the ingredients for the pickling vinegar mix (except for the white peppercorns so I've had to replace them with the black sort), will report back on results.....meanwhile I'm sitting in the kitchen with a clothespeg on my nose.....

Have a great weekend when it comes blipmates!!

EDIT
Here's the recipe, I think it's a winner!

500g sugar
1 cinnamon stick
A few cloves
2 tbsp white peppercorns
1 tbsp coriander seeds
1 tbsp fennel seeds
1 litre white wine vinegar
2 star anise
250 ml water

simmer for 15 minutes
cover and cool
decant into a bottle or jar
keep in fridge until you want to use
add enough to cover to fresh veg julienne (carrots, onions, courgettes, green beans, whatever) about an hour before you want to eat

(makes an industrial quantity, I halved the amounts!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.