1001

I really do want to say a big heartfelt thanks for all your comments yesterday, I was very surprised, humbled and touched by them and even made it into the Spotlight thing. A bit like Explore on Flickr I don't really understand how it works.

As for what to do next I have 3 years to aim for and then if that doesn't satiate me I could maybe keep going to 5 years as I am over halfway there now. If I fall out of love with it all in the meantime then I always have my 1000 to keep me going.

I bought some credits on Photobox and having faithfully uploaded my Blips to their site every month I ordered all 1000 @ 6 x 4.5 so they should turn up soon, if anyone fancies putting them in order for me I will give you my address.

I think I will also be trying to do things a little differently from now on, not just as regards what I have written below but in trying to prise photography back from just being a one a day experience.Pre Blip I used go out for the day with more of a "photo shoot" attitude, now if I have got a few half decent things I tend to relax and think ahhh, I have my Blip. Yes 5 days a week I am sure there will be no change but hopefully when I do get a chance to be out there I will do a little more.

This means I will be trying to put more things onto my sadly neglected Flickr stream as well(the Blipfolio thing has never really worked for me). I have started but I have a long way to work back. Just in case any of you Flickr and are not already contacts then this is my Flickr link.

With some serendipitous timing I have just taken delivery of some new kit. I gave up smoking a few years ago and kept putting some of the money I saved to one side and have let a nice little bundle accumulate. I loved my old 450d and before that my 350d but had never really been able to move on beyond them as I didn't have the funds and rather than slowly moving up I decided to wait however many years to eventually go full frame.

In the end my full frame realisation coincided by pure fluke with my 1000th Blip yesterday and today a box turned up with lots of new kit. I say new, all of it is secondhand but mint and the company I dealt with MPB were exemplary so much so I will link to them here. especially as they had to deal with a right wooly fool who used the wrong card and then set off fraud stuff and so on.

Well I now have a 6d and 3 L series lenses so I had better try and take better photos than the shoddy one I put up tonight. It was in my defence a test shot with my 70-200 and not really going to be my Blip. I did take my trusty G12 for a wander down by The Mere as it was looking a bit sad (don't know why it will still be doing most of the donkey work) but the interesting light was all gone by then.

Bugger me bit of an essay, back to more normal minimalism tomorrow I promise!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.