Hummingbird by night

I sat on my swing this afternoon, hoping to blip some birds, maybe even a hummingbird. After a few relaxing minutes with my camera in hand, there was a flash of lightning and rumble of thunder. It's a good thing I headed for the house right away because a storm blew through in a big hurry. A little later a second storm rolled through, bringing more noise, strong winds, and a torrent of rain. This time I was driving to the hardware store to meet Bob and had to pull over into a parking lot and wait for the rain to let up.

Back home again a bit later, I glanced out the window and saw the hummingbird sitting on top of the hook that holds his feeder. Got the camera, popped up the flash, and shot a few blips. So here you have the male ruby-throated hummingbird taking a little time out from his search for nectar. Colorful fella, don't you think? He looks even better in the larger size because his beak is easier to see.

Today's high temperature was a steamy 90 degrees. When the second storm blew through, the temperature dropped and now sits at a comfortable 77 degrees. What a relief!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.