Zia

By Zia

Westgate

The world watched the Westgate horror this week and although we are amongst the fortunate our lives will never be the same again. Westgate was our 'little village'. We still cannot comprehend what has happened. Even more difficult to accept is the loss of lives and what so many families are going through.

My office is located right next door and we have not been permitted into the building due to the security risk. Yesterday the Kenyan Defence Force let us in and I took this Blip from the back of our offices.

Invictus

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the Pit from pole to pole
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.
In the fell clutch of Circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeoning of Chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.
Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find me, unafraid.
It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate
I am the captain of my soul.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.