SeenThroughMyEyes

By jmules

The Ledge

Today is the day I was most excited for, and definitely my favorite activity thus far, but I was most scared of this day too...and not for the reason you'd think.

The Ledge:

The Ledge is a bungee jump here in New Zealand, that is up a mountain, looking over all of Queenstown, and probably more. The view is magnificent, but when you're about to throw yourself off The Ledge, it may seem a little daunting. There is only one way up the side of the mountain, by way of gondola...and that's right ladies and gentlemen, this chick is terrified of gondolas...not rapids, or jetboats, or helicopters twisting and turning, not even the task that lies before me..but the little dinky ride that will take me to the top of the mountain...(seriously?!?!) I know it's stupid, but it's just one of those things you can't control, and fat chance I was going to let that stop me from bungee jumping...so I swallowed my fear, and once at the top its like I had nothing else to be nervous for.

The harness for this jump isn't a typical one around your ankles, it goes around your waist, and over your shoulders, so you have full movement of your legs, which, for most, I would say makes it a little easier because you can just run off. After I was all geared up, the guy brought me right to the end and said smile at the camera, as I'm looking over what I'm about to hurl myself on to..and that was the most nervous I got, a lot less than I thought I would. So this guy said, 'alright, give yourself as much room as you need, and run and jump head first for the furthest distance' and I was all 'head first?!, okay!' and I just ran and dove off head first, (when Colie captured this brilliant picture: photo cred) with not a second thought or a scream for that matter. IT WAS THE MOST AMAZING EXPERIENCE! By the time I registered I was falling into the abyss the harness caught me and I attached the lever to be pulled back up. If I could have had it my way, I would have been pulled back up and allowed to jump again and again...seriously EPIC.

The rest of the day consisted of luging, and a bar crawl...but all I could think about what the jump.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.