catrionalenka

By catrionalenka

Week 4

So I have now been here for 4 weeks. The university work is starting to get a bit more focused on particular topics and assignments/homework/presentations are starting to accumulate.
I have finally received my Alien Registration Card granting me citizenship in the country up until March, not that I am planning to stay here this long but it does mean that I can now open up a bank account and finally get a student card.
I have also successfully been appointed as an English teacher which will give me some pocket money and it will be good to be working again, its been 3 months since working at Sky and I find it strange not to have a regular income coming or more of a regular schedule and a bit of responsibility. I am looking forward to teaching English as it will probably determine whether or not it is something I would want to do after university for a while.

On Thursday there was a talent show type thing going on at our university which I ended up watching with a few people, we had no idea what was going on as we weren't with any Koreans to translate for us, however we received a lot of free beer so it was all good fun. I can remember lots of Koreans doing crazy chicken dancing, they definitely have a unique way of dancing...It's a combination of Dad dancing and the chicken dance, I am determined to learn to dance like them and embarrass everyone back home when I bust out the moves on the dance floors.

On Saturday most of us went to a "Global Gathering" event, where were pretty much ordered to participate in a Holi, there was lots of coloured powder which was fine but then someone decided it would be fun to smear paint all over us...it was fun until it got stuck in my ear....above is the group photo from Holi, you can see we are a nice mess. There were also some tents with a few traditional Korean tents, this is where I participated in as what I can only describe as "drumming" I was given a weird traditional hat which looked like a giant pop corn on my head and a metal drum which I was told to hit repeatedly, there was no apparent rhythm going on from anyone else.

After a nice long shower to clean of all the paint me and a few of the others ended our Saturday the only way you can end a Saturday in Korea, in a karaoke bar...unfortunately my signing skills do not seem to be improving at all...

The weather this week has definitely cooled down to the low 20s which is refreshing, as its not as stuffy anymore and I can actually sleep at night without having to wake up and constantly turn the air conditioning back on. So finally I am seeing glimpses of autumn which after such a long summer I am looking forward to!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.