catrionalenka

By catrionalenka

Andong

So the weeks are only getting busier and busier.

I have finally met my groups that I will be teaching English, I have 2 groups of 3 people and will be doing 4 hours a week with each group, which isn't extensive but is certainly enough, I will start tomorrow. I am planning on not only teaching them my version of English but also educating them about the British culture by exposing them to British music, television and cinema.

I had an eventful weekend, a fun Friday night out with the girls, we did typical girl things such as drinking "beer" and playing beer pong...
On Saturday a few of us drove up to Andong a city which at this time of year is famous for the mask festival. We walked around a traditional Korean village, as we were walking along the beautiful countryside surrounded by traditional houses we suddenly walked in to a vending machine... welcome to the 21st century...they have them everywhere here, you can buy a pepsi pretty much anywhere in this country, even in the most remote places.
In the evening we sat by the lake in between the mountains and watched massive balls of fire being thrown down off a cliff which was followed by some beautiful fireworks. After a long day, we then ate some traditional Andong Chimdok which is a chicken stew with noodles type thing and comes from this area. It is very tasty.

On Sunday we attended another global gathering event and visited a war memorial with a museum dedicated to the Korean war in 1950-1953. Fun fact: 57,000 UK soldiers participated in this war.

We were then driven up a mountain and taken for some lunch. This was my first encounter with the possibility that the meat could be dog. As behind the restaurant there were a few dogs chained up and they did not look well...luckily I had bibimbap which is a rice dish with vegetables and egg...
After an interesting lunch we went go karting, the karts looked very dodgy which is probably why it was a lot of fun.

Back at university today discussing the current political issues around the world and tomorrow I will begin my teaching. More on that later I am sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.