Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Mississippi Paddle Boat!

A damp start to the day. It's the first day of the trip I've needed to wear the Barbour and a hat.

The highlight of the day was seeing a grass snake swimming in the canal but, unlike Sunday, when I saw the water vole, I didn't have the camera in my hand! As if that wasn't bad enough, I went to get the camera and then forgot to take a shot of a line of 7 swans a-swimming through the thick green duck-weed! It measured about 2' long.

It was back through the pea soup today and we travelled down to the start of the Erewash canal. This area at the start has houseboats builts over the canal. This impressive one is described in the guide book. as being like a Mississippi paddle boat. Even the near-by pub in called The Steamboat!

We moored by the pub overnight so we would be fresh in the morning to do whatever was required of us back out on the Trent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.