The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Lewis Williams - Pontypridd's Flying Winger

Back to Sardis Road this afternoon for a televised game of rugby. I forgot to Sky+ it which a bit of a "doh" moment. I usually like to skim through the game again when I get home to make sense of some of the referees decisions. It can be hard to tell from pitch side sometimes.

It wasn't a bad game. It followed a similar pattern to our other games I have seen this season. Our pack continues its topsy turvy form. The first half we pushed them off two scrums, the second half we lost the game in the loose.

Newport had the lions share of possession and territory for the opening quarter. Pontypridd butchered a couple of overlaps, but you sensed the try was coming. Adam Thomas duly fell over in the corner to get us up and running. We went in 10-6 at half time, but should have been out of sight.

You felt that the missed chance might come back and haunt us, more so when we got a yellow card for persistent infringing. Newport took advantage of the extra man and scored to get within a score. The game then turned when Pontypridd responded at the restart with an excellent team try. You felt that knocked the stuffing out of Newport a little bit. They did come back to score another try, but they had nothing left in the tank, with Gavin Dacey and Tom Hetherington crossing in the last ten minutes to give the scoreboard a slightly lopsided to look if I am honest.

Another win, and Pontypridd remain undefeated. There a couple of tough challenges coming up now, with Llandovery and Edinburgh Acidemicals away coming up, and then the mighty London Welsh coming to Sardis, which will be my next home game.

I've spent the evening editing the photos from today's game. There are 42 to upload, there is no way I am doing it now, as the witching hour is approaching. There are some the best I have taken at Sardis I think. I will add a link to tomorrow blip when they are on Flickr.

Not a bad end to the week ..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.