While the sun shone

Staying at the beach house for the week. It is the first week of the school holidays, and I am in need of a break from work. So we decided to spend the week here, and invite daughter C and the grandboys to join us, which they will do later in the week.

This is one of the sort of breaks that I am only too good at. I have a full day of appointments tomorrow, so will need to go back to the city for the day. I have reports to do, and two more from tomorrow. I have the agenda starting to arrive for the October meeting. So, as the saying would have it, a Clayton's holiday at best.

Still being up here is in and of itself restful. Despite the whistling wind we are experiencing because of the closeness to the equinox. Raining when I woke up, so I felt no obligation to run until the sun was shining at midday. Down at Snells Beach foreshore, there were herons all the way. This one's partner was being coy, and when his (I presume) attentions were disregarded and I appeared on the seen he took off and flew away.

The small camera was totally inadequate for that. So I was left with the sparkling silver, the tall elegant heron, and its reflection and shadow. Good enough, I thought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.