Joy!

Another beautiful autumn day! After dropping Alex at Orton Pit, where he was helping to survey water voles, I headed to Stanground Wash to do some photography for the Wildlife Trust. I hadn't anticipated staying very long, but ended up spending the rest of the morning there. Many species were flowering for a second time, a good range of butterflies were on the wing, and the first few fungi were up, including a nice group of blackening waxcaps.

Mind you, I nearly didn't make it onto the site at all. When I reached the gate there was a magnificent bull blocking the entrance. I chatted to him for a while from the other side of the fence, took his photograph and then decided he seemed docile, so headed through and walked boldly across the rather large field - thankfully he didn't bother with me at all.

On my way back to the car I came across a group of tinker's ponies grazing the Barrier Bank. I love these horses - so hardy and good-natured. I was temporarily distracted by taking a few images of drinking cattle, when I heard a strange sound behind me. I looked round top see this rather pregnant mare having a wonderful roll in the grass. When she's finished she had quite a struggle getting back on her feet, sitting and rocking gently until she gained enough momentum to stand up. She then had a vigorous shake, which released a cloud of horse-hair and dust. I guess it's moulting time of year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.