Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Chasing the sunset

Report writing and an afternoon visit to town seemed to take up most of the day, and by six o'clock I still didn't have a blip. Once I'd got the filling for our cottage pie nicely simmering on the hob, I toyed with the idea of heading out to catch the sunset, but the sky, which had looked quite promising for a while, seemed to have turned a dull grey so I didn't bother. I should have trusted my instincts... About twenty minutes later Alex came through and said the sky was on fire.

I made a dash for the car to nip down to the Rowing Lake, and then realised the sun was setting more or less due west and would be behind a hill, so Thorpe Hall seemed a better bet. I was really five minutes too late, and by the time I'd run up the (small) hill only the last vestiges of pink remained. But I rather like the contrast of the blues and pinks with the warm golden glow from the windows of the hall, which is now used as a hospice by the Sue Ryder Foundation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.