Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

DIVERSION - ROAD CLOSED!

What to blip on a dismal, damp, and dreary day - sticking with the Ds - a Diversion sign!

Walking up into the town with Mr. HCB to do some shopping, I was wondering if there was any chance of a blip when I saw these signs. The noise made by the pneumatic drill was rather loud, which is obviously why the man operating it had earphones on, so when his mate, who was operating a mini digger saw me taking photograph and especially when it was drizzling hard, he gave me a "thumbs up" sign!

He then jumped down and asked me what I was doing and by this time the drill operator had stopped his drill too. Peace! I quickly explained about blipping, and then asked if I could take a photograph with them behind the signs and they readily obliged. I asked their names - Terry was the drill operator and Steve was in charge of the mini digger. We then had quite a conversation about the weather, how long it would take them to complete the work, how people kept complaining about the noise and disruption, but they said the gas pipes had to renewed and it took time!

What lovely guys they both were and quite happy to stand and chat to me and Mr. HCB. Terry explained that he was only allowed to use the drill for a maximum of 20 minutes and then he had to have a break, and often his fingers would go numb. I wonder if those who complain realise how difficult it is for these workers. They have to get the job done with the minimum amount of inconvenience to traffic, pedestrians and residents, but are still castigated for doing it. However, it needs to be done for safety reasons.

Of course, it can be annoying when we see a "Road Closed" sign because it often means we have to go out of our way and diversions can be tricky to negotiate, but when we come up against this sort of thing in our lives, we have to concentrate so that we get back on the right road. The following verse reminds me that I need to keep listening for God's voice, so that I don't go completely in the wrong direction.

And if you leave God’s paths and go astray,
you will hear a voice behind you say,
“No, this is the way; walk here.”
Isaiah 30:21
Living Bible

We finished our shopping and to thank them for being my Monday blip, I bought Steve and Terry a packet of biscuits each - even chocolate biscuits can be a blessing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.